The Mozart Anthology:
Arrangements for two pianos & piano, four-hands

based on the music of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, arranged by Anderson & Roe


Purchase from Amazon.com

The Mozart Anthology

“The Mozart Anthology” is a celebration of Mozart’s music, offering five arrangements, fantasies, and showpieces as performed by the Anderson & Roe Piano Duo. Each work translates the spirit of Mozart’s original vision to the keyboard in a highly pianistic manner, making attractive additions to any piano duo's recital repertoire.

The volume begins with the somber Chorale Prelude (“Der, welcher wandert diese Strasse voll Beschwerden”) from Die Zauberflöte, arranged for two pianos in homage to the chorale preludes of Bach-Busoni. By contrast, the “Papageno!” fantasy is essentially a game of musical twister for piano duet featuring a mash-up of Papageno’s felicitous arias (also from Die Zauberflöte).

Two works in this anthology originate from Mozart’s opera Così fan tutte. A pair of women bid a heartfelt farewell to their lovers departing by sea in the two-piano arrangement of “Soave sia il vento,” while the Grand Scherzo recasts the swirling, flirtatious events that close Act I as a four-movement sonata for piano, four-hands.

Rounding out the anthology is Anderson's irreverently off-the-wall and dizzyingly virtuosic “Ragtime alla turca” for two pianos, based on Mozart’s RondoAlla turca,” K. 331.

All five works have been newly formatted and edited.